Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You know I will come up with any excuse for a new diy project, right?

So when I was asked to participate in the Pendant Project (an idea cooked up by AesaLina Compton of Love Lovely), I jumped on it. I’ve been wanting to give these little  stitchery wooden pendants a try anyway. So this seemed like the perfect excuse.

More info about the Pendant Project…Each week in the month of February, one blogger is chosen to create their own pendant, using AesaLina’s handy wooden pendants and what ever other materials they can dream up.

I am the first of four muses to reveal a finished piece and to keep it interesting, I am showing you exactly how I made it…PLUS I am giving away my finished piece along with a blank pendant for you to make another necklace on your own.

Materials: stitchery wooden pendant from Love Lovely, gold Sharpie paint pen, embroidery floss, needle, leather cord, and scissors

How To (instructions): I’ve laid the whole thing out in photos below…

I am not an embroidery person, so I decided from the start I would approach my design in more of a haphazard way. Starting with paint…

1. Paint both sides of your pendant, unless you prefer the look of the wood on its own, which is actually pretty nice. I used a Sharpie paint pen for mine. It is quick and easy, and (bonus!) is dry to the touch in seconds.

2. Choose your colors and start stitching. I selected three colors to limit my palette, but I didn’t want to box in my design, so I made no plan for it at all. I just dove right in.

3. After one color fet completed, I tied it off and moved on to the next. I knew I wanted to keep the design abstract and random, but I also wanted to bring some order to the overall design. So I started adding horizontal and vertical lines into the design, which you can see popping up here.

4. Then I moved into my third and final color, before adding a few finishing touches with the fuchsia thread I started with. Once the design was complete, I tied off the loose ends in the back, cut off the excess string, and added a leather cord.

Such an easy project! And definitely addictive… I want to do more of these, for sure.  Thank you to AesaLina Compton of Love Lovely for inviting to be a part of the Pendant Project!

